I'm always a little surprised by the number of requests I receive for recommendations and at length have decided to share something of my 'virtual moleskine' here. I'd like to think of this brief list of some of my favourite places as highly curated rather than being a comprehensive 'guide'. These are places I have not only enjoyed, but would visit and in many cases have visited, again and again. 

Italy

 Antica Osteria del Mirasole, San Giovanni in Persiceto (left); 'Il Quadrilatero' (right)

Antica Osteria del Mirasole, San Giovanni in Persiceto (left); 'Il Quadrilatero' (right)

BOLOGNA (& Beyond)

EAT
All'Osteria Bottega (via S. Caterina, 51, Bologna)
Il Gelatauro //ilgelatauro.wordpress.com/
Antica Osteria del Mirasole (S. Giovanni in Persiceto) www.osteriadelmirasole.it/
Grassilli Ristorante (via dal Luzzo, 3, Bologna)

COFFEE Caffe Terzi //caffeterzibologna.com/en/

VISIT
Chiesa Santo Maria della Vita
Piazza del Nettuno
Palazzo Re Enzo
Archiginnasio

WALK around 'Il Quadrilatero' neighbourhood

SHOP
La Salumeria da Bruno e Franco www.la-salumeria.it
Antica Aguzzeria del Cavallo (via Drapperie, 12/b, Bologna)
Drogheria Gilberto www.drogheriagilberto.it/
 

 Da Enzo, Trastevere, Rome

Da Enzo, Trastevere, Rome

Rome

EAT
Da Enzo http://www.daenzoal29.com/en/
Ristorante Piperno http://www.ristorantepiperno.it/
Armando al Pantheon http://www.armandoalpantheon.it/
Roscioli https://www.salumeriaroscioli.com/
Piatto Romano www.piattoromano.com/
Pasticceria Regoli www.pasticceriaregoli.com/
Giuffre' (Gelato) www.gelateriagiuffre.it
Still hungry? The Eater Guide to Rome 

SHOP
Mercati - Piazza San Cosimato, Campo de' Fiori, Circo Massimo and Testaccio
Funari (via dei Pastini, 121, Pantheon)
Society Limonata www.soctietylimonata.com/

LEARN latteria studio latteriastudio.com/events/

STAY 'Il Sole a Trastevere' (contact: ilsoleatrastevere@gmail.com)

 

 Monterosso al Mare

Monterosso al Mare

'Odds & Ends' (from around Liguria, Umbria and Lazio)

Cinque Terre (Liguria)

EAT Il Bocconcino (Monterosso al Mare) 

Orvieto (Umbria) 

EAT Trattoria la Palomba (16 Via Cipriano Menente, Orvieto)
VISIT Catthedrale di S. Maria Assunta
SHOP
Michelangeli (via Gualverio Michaelangeli, 3B, Orvieto) 
L'Orvietan www.lorvietan.com

LUBRIANO (LAZIO) 

STAY in a 3 bedroom old stone house overlooking Civita di Bagnoregio (contact: alicekiandra.adams@gmail.com)
EAT Il Vecchio Mulino (Via G. Marconi, 25, Lubriano)

 

 The Breakfast Table, Masseria Potenti, Mandura, Puglia

The Breakfast Table, Masseria Potenti, Mandura, Puglia

PUGLIA (Taranto and BARI)

Manduria

STAY / EAT Masseria Potenti www.masseriapotenti.it/masseria/

GRottaglie

SHOP
Ceramiche Nicola Fasano (via F. Crispi, 6, Grottaglie)
Bottega Vestita (via S. Sofia, 23, Grottaglie)

BARI

VISIT Bari Vecchia (for the ladies making orecchiette in the street)
EAT
PerBacco (via Abbrescia, 99, Bari)
Panificio Fiore (Strada Palazzo di Citta', 38, Bari)
Panificio el Focacciaro (via Cognetti, 43, Bari)

 

 

 Cattedrale di Otranto (left); "Trattoria Le Zie" (right)

Cattedrale di Otranto (left); "Trattoria Le Zie" (right)

PUGLIA (SALENTO and Valle D'ITRIA)

Lecce

EAT Trattoria Le Zie (Via Colonnello Archimede Costadura, 19)
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED 'Walking Tour of Lecce' http://www.infolecce.it/

OTRANTO

EAT Laltro Baffo
VISIT Cattedrale di Otranto

OSTUNI

EAT Osteria Piazzetta Cattedrale

ALBEROBELLO

SEE i trulli

 

NAPLES

EAT Gino Sorbillo www.facebook.com/PizzeriaGinoSorbillo

 Quattro Canti, Palermo, Sicily

Quattro Canti, Palermo, Sicily

Sicily (east / Central) 

PALERMO

STAY BB22 Palace www.bb22.it/
EAT Osteria Mercede https://www.facebook.com/osteriamercede

SHOP
Mercati di Ballaro and del Capo
Marchese Roberto

LEARN Palermo Street Food www.palermostreetfood.com/
SEE Quattro Canti and Teatro Massimo

TRAPANI / ERICE

EAT
Al Solito Posto http://www.trattoria-alsolitoposto.com/
Maria Grammatico (pasticceria) www.mariagrammatico.it/

VALLELUNGA PRATAMENO

LEARN Anna Tasca Lanza http://annatascalanza.com/

 Antico Mercato di Ortigia, Siracusa, Sicily

Antico Mercato di Ortigia, Siracusa, Sicily

Sicily (West)

TAORMINA

STAY Villa Carlotta www.villacarlottataormina.com/
EAT Roberto Il Mago dei Cannoli

ORTIGIA (SIRACUSA) 

EAT
Don Camillo www.doncamillosiracusa.it/
Taberna Sveva
SHOP Antico Mercato

NOTO / RAGUSA

STAY Notia Rooms www.notiarooms.com/

EAT
Café Sicilia www.facebook.com/Caffé-Sicilia-Noto
Ristorante Crocifisso www.ristorantecrocifisso.it/wps/
La Rusticana https://www.facebook.com/LaRusticana.Modica/

FRANCE

 Racines, Passage de Panoramas, 2E, Paris

Racines, Passage de Panoramas, 2E, Paris

Paris

STAY Hotel Grand Amour www.hotelamourparis.fr/en/

EAT
Racines www.racinesparis.com/
Clown Bar www.clown-bar-paris.com/
Le Servan http://leservan.com/
Le Comptoir de la Gastronomie https://comptoirdelagastronomie.com/
Du Pain e des Idees dupainetdesidees.com/
10 Belles Bread www.tenbelles.com/
Pierre Herme www.pierreherme.com/
L'As du Fallafel (32-34 Rue des Rosiers, 75004 Paris)

SHOP
Maison de Vacances www.maisondevacances.com/
Astier de Villatte www.astierdevillatte.com/
Roses Costes hotelcostes.com/en/
Marche Raspail (biologique - les dimanches)
 

Greece

 Diporto, (Psyrri), Athens

Diporto, (Psyrri), Athens

Athens

STAY Coco-Mat Hotel Athens (Kolonaki)  www.cocomatathens.com/
EAT
Diporto (cnr Sokratos and Theatrou, Athens)
Cafe Avissinia (Monastiraki) cafeavissinia.com/
Mavro Provato (Pangrati) www.tomauroprovato.gr/mezedopoleio/el/home.html
SHOP
Varvakios Agora (Athens Central Market) Athinas (Psyrri)
Monastiraki Flea Market

 

 Emporio, Santorini

Emporio, Santorini

PAROS & ANtiparos (CYCLADES)

EAT
Kafeneio - Palia Agora, (Naoussa, Paros)
Levantis (Parikia, Paros) www.levantisrestaurant.com
The Beach House (Apantima, Antiparos) beachhouseantiparos.com/eat-drink/
DRINK Sommaripa Consolato (bar) (Naoussa, Paros)
VISIT Agia Irini (beach) (Paros) / Soros (beach) (Antiparos)
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED guided walks / trekking tours www.paroshikes.com
SHOP The Antique Store (Naoussa, Paros)

SANTORINI (CYCLADES)

EAT
Taverna Roza (Vourvoulos)
to Psaraki (Vlychada)
DRINK Gaia Wines http://www.gaiawines.gr/
SHOP Atlantis Books www.atlantisbooks.org
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED Caldera sailing tours http://barbarossasailing.com/
LEARN Tomato Industrial Museum www.tomatomuseum.gr

Australia

 'Paella Day', Act Casual, Brooklyn - 26 January 2018

'Paella Day', Act Casual, Brooklyn - 26 January 2018

SydnEY (& SURROUNDS)

EAT
The Apollo www.theapollo.com.au/
Fratelli Paradiso http://fratelliparadiso.com/
Billy Kwong http://www.billykwong.com.au/
Da Orazio http://daorazio.com/
Paper Bird http://paperbirdrestaurant.com/
Two Chaps http://twochaps.com.au/
Chin Chin https://www.chinchinrestaurant.com.au/sydney/
Pizza Madre (Broadsheet review) Pizza Madre
Act Casual https://www.actcasual.co/

SHOP
Carriageworks Farmers Market http://carriageworks.com
Potts Point Bookshop https://www.pottspointbookshopblog.com/about/
 

 Milk and Honey, Mullumbimby, New South Wales

Milk and Honey, Mullumbimby, New South Wales

GREATER New South Wales

BYRON BAY AND BEYOND

EAT
Fleet http://fleet-restaurant.com.au/
Milk and Honey http://milkandhoneymullumbimby.com.au/
Woods www.facebook.com/pages/Woods-Bangalow/

SHOP Mullumumbimby Market http://mullumfarmersmarket.org.au/

Music: "Rainy Sun", The Owl (freemusicarchive.org) CC BY-NC-ND

Melbourne & Greater Victoria

STAY
Marge's Cottage www.airbnb.com.au/rooms/
The White Room www.airbnb.com.au/rooms/

EAT / DRINK
Marion https://marionwine.com.au/
Pellegrini's https://www.broadsheet.com.au/melbourne/cafes/
Tipo 00 www.tipo00.com.au/
Tivoli Road Bakery https://tivoliroad.com.au/

LEARN
Tamsin's Table http://tamsinstable.com.au/
Paola Bacchia http://italyonmymind.com.au/cook-with-me/

SHOP
Costante Imports www.costanteimports.com.au/
Paperback Bookshop www.paperbackbooks.com.au
 

 Creative Sun room no. 121, Hotel Hotel, New Acton

Creative Sun room no. 121, Hotel Hotel, New Acton

Canberra, ACT

STAY Hotel Hotel https://www.hotel-hotel.com.au/
* Note: As of 1 March 2018 Hotel Hotel has been sold to Ovolvo Group

EAT
Monster Kitchen and Bar http://monsterkitchen.com.au/
Mocan and Green Grout https://mocanandgreengroutcom.wordpress.com/

LEARN National Gallery of Australia https://nga.gov.au

 Lady Hester Donuts, Farm Gate Market, Hobart

Lady Hester Donuts, Farm Gate Market, Hobart

Tasmania (Hobart and Beyond)

STAY
Ridgeline http://ridgelinepottery.com.au/
MACq 01 Hotel http://www.macq01.com.au/
EAT
Templo https://www.templo.com.au/
Pigeon Whole Bakers
Ti ama https://tiama.com.au/
EAT / LEARN The Agrarian Kitchen Eatery / School  www.theagrariankitchen.com/
SHOP
The Drill Hall (antiques) http://www.thedrillhall.com.au/index.html
Salamanca Market https://www.salamancamarket.com.au/Home
Farm Gate Market http://farmgatemarket.com.au/
Bruny Island Cheese Co. https://brunyislandcheese.com.au/

SE ASIA

 Central Market, Hoi An, Vietnam

Central Market, Hoi An, Vietnam

VietnAM

HOI AN

EAT
Nu Eatery https://www.facebook.com/NuEateryHoiAn
Morning Glory http://tastevietnam.asia/morning-glory-restaurant
Miss Ly https://www.facebook.com/pages/Miss-Ly/

SHOP Central Market
LEARN Morning Glory Cooking School